en
endeiwjanlfidacsitptesfrsvnohrel

AT Congress® Berlin 2022

Search our site

N-O-W letters animated during page loading: O spining, N and W drawing on and off

Luc Vanier and Elizabeth Johnson

Luc Vanier and Elizabeth Johnson
Salt Lake City & Gainesville
USA

Luc Vanier (MFA, M.AmSAT, RSDE) is a Professor and Founding Director of the School of Dance at the University of Utah, where he spent the last six years synergizing two respected historic Dance departments (Ballet and Modern Dance into a new entity. He received his MFA from the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana and certified as an Alexander technique (AT) teacher in 2001. In 2011, as an AT training course director, he founded Alexander Technique Milwaukee (ATMKE); in 2016, he later co-founded Salt Lake City Alexander Technique (SLCityAT), where he is the current director.

As a pedagogue and integral researcher, Luc has lectured and presented his research extensively nationally and internationally and his co-authored book “Dance and the Alexander Technique” was published by University of Illinois Press in 2011. It was also translated in Spanish Fall 2021 with Pequeña Hoja Press (Buenos Aires Argentina). In 2012, he founded the Integral Movement Lab, which combines the Alexander Technique and developmental ideas within product and curriculum designs. He co-created Framework for Integration, a movement analysis system anchored in the way babies and animals move that helps all movers make new, healthier movement decisions and encourages more coordinated and integrated bodily use (look for an upcoming book soon).

SLCityAT, with Luc Vanier as Training Course Director, is a dynamic space which provides Alexander Technique Teacher training anchored in the tradition of Alexander and Joan Murray by way of the Carrington lineage. Luc also took four years of lessons with Ellen Hobbs in Cleveland who herself trained with Patrick MacDonald in the 1980s.

The course believes in physicality in the way observing the movement of babies and animals and applying the principles of the Alexander Technique will helps all movers make new, healthier movement decisions and encourages more coordinated and integrated bodily use.

Our varied Salt Lake City teachers, collectively, have decades of experience in all types of dance (ballet, modern dance, tango, pole, etc), developmental movement (Dart Procedures, Laban/Bartenieff, Body Mind Centering), martial arts, yoga and sports.

Luc is an active writer who recently co-authored:
1. The Subtle Dance of Developmental Self-Awareness with New Media Technologies, published with the Presse University du Quebec (PUQ)
2. Ballet aesthetics of trauma, development and functionality, published in the book (Re)Claiming Ballet with Intellect Press.

Luc is convinced of his responsibility to interrogate our physical practices in order to not habitually duplicate racist/sexist perspectives.

Elizabeth Johnson (MFA, M.AmSAT, RSME/T, RYT200) is a performer, choreographer, educator, Laban/Bartenieff Movement Analyst, certified Teacher of the Alexander Technique (AmSAT & ATI), and Registered Yoga Teacher (200hr). She teaches and presents nationally (US) and internationally on dance/movement pedagogies and somatics that center developmental movement, prosocial/trauma informed education, and feminist perspectives. She has co-authored/authored three book chapters featuring applied Alexander Technique and developmental movement and is an Associate Professor in the School of Theatre and Dance at the University of Florida.

lucvanier@gmail.com

55